Good people make bad mistakes.
If you have been charged with drunk driving in Connecticut, whether it’s your first time or you’ve faced DWI charges before, the criminal defense lawyers at Volman Law can help. We work aggressively to minimize the negative consequences you face for one bad night. Contact our Shelton law office today to discuss your case.
Connecticut is tough on Drunk Drivers
If you have been charged with drunk driving, you face the possibility of license suspension or revocation from two angles: in an administrative proceeding before the DMV and in criminal court. It’s important to fight DUI charges at both levels.
Talk with a lawyer as soon as possible. You must contact the DMV within 7 days after you receive your suspension notice to request a DMV hearing. A hearing will then be scheduled within 30 days to determine if your license will be suspended.
DMV Suspension Periods in Connecticut
|Drunk Driving Charges||First Offense||Second Offense||Three or More Prior DWI s
|Refusing breathalyzer or blood test||6 month suspension||One year suspension||3 years suspended license|
|Blood alcohol level of .08 or more or .02 or more if under age 21||90 day suspension||9 month suspension||2 year suspension|
|Blood alcohol level of .16 or more||120 days suspended license||10 months suspended license||30 months suspended license|
Criminal Consequences of a Drunk Driving Conviction in Connecticut
|Drunk Driving Charge||Jail Sentence||Fine||License Suspension|
|First||Up to 6 months in jail with a mandatory minimum of two days, OR up to 6 months of probation with 100 hours of community services||$500. to $1,000.||One year|
|Second||Up to 2 years, with a mandatory minimum of 120 days and probation with 100 hours of community service||$1,000. to $4,000.||3 years (or until age 21)|
|Third and Subsequent DWI Conviction||Up to 3 years, with a mandatory minimum of 1 year in jail plus probation with 100 hours of community service||$2,000. to $8,000.||Permanent revocation of your driver’s license|
Avoid a DUI / DWI Conviction Whenever Possible
With more than 20 years of criminal defense experience, the defense attorneys at Volman Law have the experience you need to fight DWI/DUI charges at both the DMV administrative hearing and in criminal court.
Contact our Skilled DWI/DUI Defense Attorneys Today
If you have been charged with drunk driving anywhere in Connecticut, contact the DWI defense firm of Volman Law today. Your initial consultation is always free, and we participate in several legal payment plans.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (203) 929-7771